South Carolina's Largest Performing Arts Company

Body & Movement Explored

Created to increase awareness and appreciation for mixed repertoire and contemporary or modern approaches to dance, Body & Movement Explored provides multiple choreographers an opportunity to work with the professional dancers of Columbia City Ballet. Each performance concludes with a compelling Q & A session between the choreographers and audience members, providing unique insight into the creative processes involved.

Body & Movement Explored is a unique performance showcasing the art of Columbia City Ballet dancers and other local choreographers who have created a unique mixed repertoire of works never seen before by any audience.

“We are very excited about the unique nature of this event. In Columbia, there are so many talented dancers and choreographers as well as within our own company. We are proud to showcase their pieces to our community,” Executive & Artistic Director William Starrett said.

MARCH 9th & 10th

914 Pulaski Street, Columbia SC

Featured Choreographer List:

Miranda Bailey – “Prelude” Dancers: Bonnie Boiter-Jolley and Maurice Johnson; Music by George Gershwin

“Origin of Love” Dancers: Claire Richards, Autumn Hill, Bonnie Boiter-Jolley, Jessica Cobb, Dylan Bacon, Jordan Hawkins, Ashley Concannon, Carmie Shiano Nelson, Amanda Summey, Abbey McDowell, Elizabeth Meade, Philip Ingrasia, Leonardo Victorino, Brandon Michaels, Brandon Penn, Martin Hunter, Colin Jacob; Music: ‘Origin of Love’, ‘Touches You’, & ‘Love Today’ by Mika

Colin Jacob – “Something So Good” Dancers: Amanda Summey, Nicole Carrion, Carmie Schiano Nelson, Katie Heaton, Jessica Cobb, Dylan Bacon, Marian Morgan; Music: ‘I Did Something Bad’ originally by Taylor Swift, cover by Shoshana Bean and Cynthia Erivo

Claire Richards and Jordan Hawkins – “Good Eats” composed by Richards’ fiancee Mark Rapp. Rapp will be on trumpet with Brendan Bull on drums on stage; Dancers: Claire Richards and Jordan Hawkins

William Starrett – “Let My People Go” – starring Brandon Penn and Maurice Johnson. Music by Paul Robeson – ‘Go Down Moses (Let My People Go)’

Regina & Melina Willoughby – “Outside of Me” Dancers: Regina and Melina Willoughby; Music: ‘Rain’ by Dustin O’Halloran

Phillip Ingrassia – “Together Apart” Dancers: Regina Willoughby, Autumn Hill, Dylan Bacon; Music by Ludovic Einaudi

Stephanie Wilkins – “Ache” Dancers: Philip Ingrassia, Autumn Hill, Claire Richards, Camilo Herrera, Amanda Summey, Brandon Michaels

Rachel Leonard – Dancers: Jordan Hawkins, Brandon Michaels, Jessica Cobb, Marian Morgan, Bonnie Boiter-Jolley, Maurice Johnson, Caleb Roberts, Ashley Concannon, Katie Heaton, Martin Hunter

Martin Hunter – Dancers: Bo Busby, Brandon Michaels, Colin Jacob, Martin Hunter, Jordan Hawkins, Amanda Summey, Katie Heaton, Regina Willoughby

Amanda Summey – Dancers: Jordan Hawkins, Colin Jacob, Nicole Carrion

Abby McDowell – Dancers: Katie Heaton and Brandon Penn

Brown Paper Tickets Ticket Widget Loading…

Click Here to visit the Brown Paper Tickets event page.